Isaiah 6

“For I am a man of unclean lips, and I dwell in the midst of a people of unclean lips” (from Isa. 6:5)

The fact is that both Isaiah and the people of his day were unclean sinners. Isaiah’s sins were atoned for by God’s grace only. Same with the remaining believers. Same with me. I’m a sinner saved by grace, and I will be a sinner saved by grace until the end of my life. I’ll still sin. I won’t arrive at perfection until Jesus comes back. Yet, that is how I can be a witness to others, pointing them to Jesus Christ.

“But I have this treasure in jars of clay to show that the surpassing power belongs to God and not to us. We’re afflicted in every way but not crushed, perplexed but not driven to despair, persecuted but not forsaken, struck down but not destroyed, always carrying in the body the death of Jesus so that the life of Jesus may also be manifested in our bodies. For we who live are always being given over to death for Jesus’ sake so that the life of Jesus also may be manifested in our mortal flesh.” (2 Cor. 4:7-11)

I might as well accept myself now. I sin, and it’s okay. Oh yes, I’ll try not to sin. But I can’t not sin at all. And I accept myself because God accepts me as I am.

“Keep on hearing, but do not understand; keep on seeing, but do not perceive. Make the heart of this people dull, and their ears heavy, and blind their eyes; lest they see with their eyes, and hear with their ears, and understand with their hearts, and turn and be healed” (Isaiah 6:9-10)

Jesus’ interpretation is that many didn’t understand even though they heard the gospel, but his disciples did and because of it they’re blessed. (Matt. 13:14-15) There are still many people who hear but don’t understand. I do. God gave me faith by his grace. And I am forever thankful for his grace. A sinner saved by grace, that is who I am.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

